Skip to main content
12 schedules of indian constitution

GK> All 12 Schedules of Indian Constitution [PDF]


12 Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules of Indian Constitution General Knowledge: The idea to have Constitution was first given by M.N. Roy who was a pioneer of the Communist Movement in India. After that in 1935, the Indian National Congress or INC, for the first time, officially demanded a Constituent Assembly to frame the Constitution of India. At present, it has a preamble, 25 parts with 448 articles, 12 schedules, 5 appendices and 101 amendments by 2016. So here are small details of these twelve schedules of Indian constitution.

GK> Preamble of Indian Constitution – Study Notes

You have to remember all these schedules for your competitive government job examination. So read carefully.

Contents :

First Schedule:

Names of States and Union Territories with their territorial jurisdiction.

Second Schedule:

Salary of President, Governors, Chief Judges, Judges of High Courts and Supreme Court, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of States, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha and Legislative Councils of States and Comptroller and Auditor General.

Third Schedule:

forms of Oaths and Affirmations for Union Ministers, Candidates for election to the Parliament, members of Parliament, Judges of Supreme Court and High Courts, CAG, Ministers to State Legislature, Members of State Legislature.

Fourth Schedule:

Allocate seats for States and Union Territories of India in Rajya Sabha.

Fifth Schedule :

Administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Schedule Tribes.

Sixth Schedule :

Provisions for administration of Tribal Area in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.

Seventh Schedule:

Gives allocation of powers and functions between Union and States.

It contain Three lists:

  1. Union list (for central government): 100 subjects (originally 97).
  2. States list (power of State Government): 61 subjects (originally 66)
  3. Concurrent list (Both Union and States): 52 subjects (originally 47).

Eight Schedule :

  • List of 22 languages of India recognized by Constitution. 1. Assamese, 2. Bengali, 3. Gujarati, 4. Hindi, 5. Kannada, 6. Kashmir, 7. Konkani, 8. Malayalam, 9. Manipuri, 10. Marathi, 11. Nepali, 12. Odia, 13 Punjabi, 14. Sanskrit, 15. Sindhi, 16. Tamil, 17. Telugu, 18. Urdu, 19. Santhali, 20. Bodo, 21. Maithili, 22. Dogri.
  • Advertisement
  • Sindhi was added in 1967 by the 21st amendment.
  • Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added in 1992 by 71st amendment.
  • Santhali, Maithili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by the 92nd amendment.

Ninth Schedule :

Added by the 1st amendment in 1951. It contains acts and orders related to legislatures dealing with land reforms and abolition of the Zamindari System. It is meant to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights. However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this Schedule after April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review.

Tenth Schedule :

Added by 52nd amendment in 1985. It contains provisions of disqualification of grounds of defection. That is known as Anti-Defection Law.

Eleventh Schedule :

Added by 73rd amendment in 1992. It contains provisions of panchayat Raj.

Twelfth Schedule :

Added by 74th amendment in 1992. It contains provisions of Municipal corporation.

Articles covered by the 12 Schedule

Which articles are covered in the first schedule?

Articles 1 and 4

Which articles are covered in the second schedule?

Article 75, Article 84, Article 99, Article 124, Article 146, Article 173, Article 188 & Article 219

Which articles are covered in the fourth schedule?

Article 4 and Article 80

Which articles are covered in the fifth schedule?

Article 244

Which articles are covered in the sixth schedule?

Article 244 and Article 275

Which articles are covered in the seventh schedule?

Article 246

Which articles are covered in the eighth schedule?

Article 344 and Article 351

Which articles are covered in the ninth schedule?

Article 31 B

Which articles are covered in the 10th schedule?

Article 102 and Article 191

Which articles are covered in the 11th schedule?

Article 243 G

Which articles are covered in the 12th schedule?

Article 243 W

Download 12 Schedules of Indian Constitution [PDF]

Save As PDF


Hi, I am SOM, a State Added (WB) Lecturer in Physics at a College, Part-time blogger, and founder of, started blogging since 2015 and still learning.