Skip to main content
Modern Indian History, MCQ on India’s freedom struggle

[MCQ Set 2] Indian National Movement- Modern Indian History Objective GK [pdf]


Important MCQ on Indian National Movement

Indian National Movement top selected objective questions and answers (MCQs) are listed here for your upcoming competitive exams like SSC, CGL, MTS, IAS, UPSE, Railway, Banking etc.

In Indian history, from 1900 to 1947, the movement or freedom struggle was geared up. engagement of Gandhi, Subhash chandra bose, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, and other important leaders to National Movement of India took towards the end of British government in India. At last in 1947 India become independent from British.

Answers are hidden in the black box.

Q.1 Arrange in chronological order –

a> Gandhi’s return to India.

b> Lucknow Pact.

c> Outbreak of first world war.

d> Champaran Satyagrah.

A: c>a>b>d

B: c>b>a>d

C: c>d>a>b

D: c>a>d>b

Answer : Option A

Q.2 Who was the pioneered of Khilafat Movement?

[MBA 1990]

A: Syed Ahmed Khan

B: Ali Jinnah

C: Gandhiji

D: Abdul Gaffar Khan

Answer : Gandhiji

Q.3 Which among the following is correct chronological order?

a> Champaran Satyagraha

b> Dandi March

c> Jallianwala Bagh tragedy

d> Partition of Bengal

[NDA 2001]

A: d>a>b>c

B: d>a>c>b

C: d>c>b>a

D: d>c>a>b

Answer : Option B

Q.4 According to British, ‘the leader of Indian unrest’ was –

A: Mahatma Gandhi

B: Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose

C: B.G. Tilak

D: Motilal Nehru

Answer : Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Q.5 Who join Mahatma Gandhi dur ing Chapmaran struggle?


[IAS 1994]

A: Vallabh Bhai Patel

B: Rajendra Prasad

C: Vinoba Bhave

D: Jawahharlal Nehru

Answer : Rajendra Prasad.

Q.6 Which Indian freedom fighter as well as president of Indian National Congress was in prison during the session in 1921?

[IAS 1992]

A: Abdul Kalam Ajad

B: Gandhiji

C: Motilal Nehru

D: Chittaranjan Das

Answer : Chittaran Das

Q.7 All India Trade Union Congress was established in Bombay in –

[CDS 2009]

A: 1917

B: 1918

C: 1919

D: 1920

Answer : 1920

Q.8 Who involved in Alipur bomb case?

[Central Excise 1994]

A: Aurobinda Ghosh

B: Vagat Singh

C: Jatin Das

D: Bipin Chandra Pal

Answer : Aurobinda Ghosh

Q.9 Who got the title ‘Punjab Kesari‘?

[CDS 1991]

A: Ranjit Singh

B: Sukhdeb Guru

C: Bhagat Singh

D: S.N Banerjee

Answer : Ranjit Singh

Q.10 Satyagraha struggle was carried out by Gandhi due to which reason?

[IAS 2009]

A: Rowlatt Act

B: Trade dispute Act

C: Partition of Bengal

D: Govt. Of India Act 1919

Answer : Rowlatt Act

Q.11 Mahatma Gandhi returned to India from South Africa permanently in

A: 1919

B: 1911

C: 1915

D: 1916

Answer : 1915

Q.12 Mahatma Gandhi’s first conflict with British in India was 

A: Champaran Satyagraha

B: Chauri Chaura Incident

C: strike of mill workers at Ahmedabad.

D: None of these.

Answer : Strike of mill workers at Ahmedabad.

<< Previous MCQ Set : Indian National Movement


Hi, I am SOM, a State Added (WB) Lecturer in Physics at a College, Part-time blogger, and founder of, started blogging since 2015 and still learning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.