Skip to main content
Modern Indian History, MCQ on India’s freedom struggle

[MCQ Set] Indian National Movement- Modern Indian History > Objective GK [pdf]


Important General Knowledge Objective Questions on Indian National Movement- Modern Indian History

Multiple Choice Questions with Answers on the Indian National Movement in the part of Modern Indian History. All these history mcq questions are very important for IAS UPSC, Banking, SSC, CGL, MTS, CHSL Railways, and other competitive examinations. Expected 5 to 6 questions in each exam.

Answers of the Indian National Movement are given under the black box. To view please keep the cursor on the black box. If you are a mobile user, just touch the black box to view the answers of each MCQs.

Q.1 What was the most important reason for Swadeshi and Boycott movement?

[IAS 1988]

A: Lord’s Curzon’s plan to partition of Bengal

B: Curzon’s Plan to cut the effect of the growing popularity of the Indian National Congress.

C: Curzon’s plan to control the educational system of India.

D: ‘Drainage of Wealth from India to England.

Answer – Lord Curzon’s plan to partition of Bengal-

Q.2 Which revolutionary turned into a philosopher?

[IAS 1990]

A: Chittaranjan Das

B: Bal Gangadhar Tilak

C: Dadavai Naoroji

D: Aurobindo Ghosh

Answer – Aurobindo Ghosh

Q.3 Arrange by correct sequence.

(i) Rowlatt Act (ii) Gandhi Erwin Pact (iii) Morley Minto reforms (iv) Elbert Bill

[CDS 2009]

A: iv – iii – i – ii

B: iv – ii – iii – i

C: iv – iii – ii – i

D: iii – i – ii – iv

Answer – option A

Q.4 Which year British transferred the capital of India from Calcutta to Delhi?

A: 1900

B: 1930

C: 1911

D: 1912

Answer – 1911

Q.5 Which among the following was lady representative from India in the second round table conference?

[IAS 2009]

A: Sarojini Naidu

B: J. P Kripalini

C: Sucheta Kripalani

D: Lakshmi Ghosh

Answer – Sarojini Naidu

Q.6 Which institution was founded by Gandhi?

A: Phoenix Ashram

B: Vishwa Bharati

C: Seva Ashram

D: Jawaharlal Nehru university

Answer – Phoenix Ashram

Q.7 Which among the following revolutionaries was not hanged on the charge of the Kakori case?

[CDS 1991]

A: Ramprasad Bismil

B: Ashfaquallah

C: Manmatu Gupta

D: Bhagat Singh

Answer – Bhagat Singh

GK> Revolt of 1857 – Sepoy Mutiny – Study Notes

Q.8 National demand – Swaraj was first spread by –

A: Dadavai Naoroji

B: Gandhi

C: Subhas Chandra Bose

D: Annie Besant

Answer – Dadavai Naoroji

Q.9 Viceroy of India during Jallianwala Bagh Massacre –

A: Lord Curzon

B: Lord Chelmsford

C: Lord Bentick

D: Lord Minto

Answer – Lord Chelmsford

Q. 10 Who set up the Indian Independence League?

[IES 1995]

A: Subhas Chandra Bose

B: Rasbihari Bose

C: Jawaharlal Nehru

D: S.M Yoshi

Answer – Rasbihari Bose

Q.11 The Urdu poet who was representative of both second and third round table conference –

[IAS 2006]

A: Aruna Asaf Ali

B: Muhammad Iqbal

C: Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan

D: Fiaz Ahmad Faiz

Answer – Muhammad Iqbal

Q.12 The first movement against the British in India was –

A: Swadeshi Movement

B: Khilafat Movement

C: Quit India movement

D: Non-Cooperative movement

Answer – Swadeshi movement

Q.13 Who among the following founded the first women university in India?

[NDA 1994]

A: J.P Kripalini

B: D.K Karve

C: Sarojini Naidu

D: Sucheta Kripalini

Answer – D.K Karve

Q.14 Why the British shifted the capital from Calcutta to Delhi?

[CDS 2002]

A: It was not possible to control the western part of India from Calcutta.

B: Calcutta was the hotbed of revolutionaries.

C: The weather in Delhi was more suitable than Calcutta.


D: To prevent the advent of Portuguese

Answer – Option B

Read: Advent of European in India> GK Question Answer (MCQ)

Q. 15 The Vaikom Satyagraha in 1924 was led by –

[NDA 1998]

A: Kesava Menon

B: Chittaranjan Das

C: Mahatma Gandhi

D: Lala Lajpat Rai

Answer Kesava Menon

Q.16 During which period ‘Mahatma’ Titled given before the name of Gandhi?

A: During Swadeshi Movement

B: During Champaran Satyagraha

C: During the Implementation of the Rowlatt Act in India.

D: During Surat Session of 1907

Answer: During Champaran Satyagraha.

Q.17 Who was the first Indian leader who undergo imprisonment in 1882?

A: Bal Gangadhar Tilak

B: B.C Pal

C: C. Vijaraghavachari

D> S.M Joshi

Answer – C. Vijaraghavachari-

Q.18 Who is the famous person returned the Knighthood to protest against the atrocities of the Jaliwanwala Bagh Massacre?

[IAS 2004]

A: Arabinda Ghosh

B: Rabindranath Tagore

C: Jawaharlal Nehru

D: Bipin Chandra Pal

Answer – Rabindranath Tagore

Q.19 Swaraj was the goal of India’s political efforts – said by Dadavai Naoroji announced at –

[CDS 2003]

A: Calcutta session 1886

B: Calcutta session 1906

C: Lahore session 1885

D: Mumbai session 1889

Answer – Calcutta session 1906

Q.20 Who among the following revolutionary gave the slogan ‘Inquilab Zindabad‘?

[CDS 2002, I. Tax Central Excise 1993]

A: Mahatma Gandhi

B: Bipin Chandra Pal

C: Bhagat Singh

D: Syed Ahmed Khan

Answer – Bipin Chandra Pal

Q.21I, therefore, want freedom immediately, this very night, before dawn if it can be had“. Who the great Indian leader said this line?

[ I. Tax & Central Excise 1990]

A: Annie Besant

B: Subhas Chandra Bose

C: Ashutosh Mukherjee

D: Mahatma Gandhi

Answer – Mahatma Gandhi

Q.22 Which viceroy of India passed the ‘Ancient Monuments Preservation Act‘?

[Transmission Executive exam 1990]

A: Lord Ripon

B: Lord Curzon

C: Lord Mountbatten

D: Lord Chelmsford

Answer – Lord Curzon

Q.23 Why the Haripura Congress in 1938 remains a milestone in Indian freedom struggle?

[NDA 2010]

A: Because In this congress all Indian leaders declared war against the British.

B: Because Jawaharlal Nehru was selected for the future PM of India.

C: Because congress introduced the idea of a planning commission.

D: Because people boycotted foreign goods and liquor.

Answer – Option C

Q.24 Death year of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar is –

[MP PSC 1992]

A: 1956

B: 1965

C: 1951

D: 1953

Answer – 1956

Q.25 Who was selected as president of Khilafat Conference met at Delhi in 1919?

A: Mahatma Gandhi

B: Ali Jinnah

C: Motilal Nehru

D: Syed Ahmed Khan

Answer – Mahatma Gandhi

Must Read:
 Important MCQs on Mughal Empire.
 Important MCQ on Khilji Dynasty.
 Important MCQ on Tughlaq Dynasty

Download MCQ Indian National Movement- Modern India

Download As PDF

Next Set of MCQ on Indian National Movement


Hi, I am SOM, a State Added (WB) Lecturer in Physics at a College, Part-time blogger, and founder of, started blogging since 2015 and still learning.