Skip to main content

GK> Important Points on Gupta Dynasty PDF


Important General Knowledge on Gupta Dynasty

Gupta Period: 319 AD -540 AD

Gupta Period or Dynasty is one of the most important periods in Indian History. Here are some important points of the Gupta Empire for your General Knowledge.

Gupta’s rule lasted for more than 200 years in Magadha and over the greater part of Northern-India.

Gupta period is referred to as the “Classical Age” or the “Golden Age” of ancient India.

The founder of this dynasty is ‘SriGupta‘.

Ghatotkach Succeeded ‘SriGupta‘ and inherited the title of Maharaja.

Chandragupta-1 (319-335 AD):

Chandragupta-1 was the first and important king of the Gupta Dynasty. He acquired the title of “Maharajadhiraja“. He started the Gupta era in 319-320 AD.

He ruled over Saketa (Ayodhya), Prayaga (Allahabad) and Magadh. He made his kingdom more than a principality. He married a Lichchhavei princess.

Samudragupta (335-380 AD):

Samudragupta is the son of Chandragupta-1 an inscription, Prayaga Prasasti composed by Harisena, provides the most detail and authentic record of the reign of Samudragupta.

He was a great conqueror according to Prayaga Prasasti.

Samudragupta is called the “Napoleon of India” by V.A. Smith because of his military campaigns, bravery, and generalship. He believed in the policy of war and conquest.

He acquired the title of ‘Vikramanka‘ and ‘Kaviraj‘.

He had composed numerous poems of high merit and some of his coins represent him ‘Playing Vina“.

Chandragupta-2 (380-415 AD):

Chandragupta-2 is known as ‘Vikramaditya‘.

Ramagupta, who ruled for a very short period, succeeded Samudragupta, but his younger brother Chandragupta-2 killed him and married his widow ‘Dhruvadevi‘.

He issued silver coins for the first time.

He is best remembered for his patronage of learning and the arts. He built Mehrauli Iron Pillar near Kutub Minar in Delhi.

He has nine gens or ‘Navaratna‘ in his court. The nine gems are,-

  1. Kalidasa ( Important Poetry, Raghuvanshama

    , Meghadutam).

  2. Amarsinha

  3. Dhanavantri (Medicine text book Navanitakam).

  4. Varahmihir

  5. Vararuchi

  6. Velabhalt

  7. Ghatakarna

  8. Shaku

  9. Kshapranak

Chinese pilgrim Fa-Hien, who wrote ‘Fo-Kuo-Ki‘ visited India at the time of Chandragupta-2.

Kumargupta (415-467 AD):

Chandragupta-2 was succeeded by his son Kumargupta.

He was the founder of Nalanda Mahavihra or Nalanda University, a renowned center of learning of ancient India.

Skandagupta (455-467 AD):

Skandagupta was the last and Important ruler of the Gupta Dynasty.

He was invaded by the Huns from central Asia during his reign. He was successful in repelling the Huns.

After his death, the empire began to decline.

Administration of Gupta Rulers:

The whole empire was divided into ‘Bhuktis” or Provinces which were governed by ‘Upanikas‘.

The king directly appointed them. Provinces were also divided into a number of districts.

They issued a large number of gold coins. gold coins were known as Dinars. Silver coins were known as ‘Rupyakas‘.

Society and Religion:

Both Hinduism and Buddhism was greatly practiced, but Buddhism was started to decline. At this time Bhagavat-Gita was written.

Women’s status continued to decline.

Vishnu Temple was established at this time was considered the oldest temple of India.


Aryabhatta was the great Mathematician and Astronomer, wrote Aryabhatiya and Suryasiddhanta.

He was able to find the value of Pie and length of the solar year to 365.358 days.

He believed that earth was a sphere and rotate around its axis. Varahmihir wrote Panchasidhantila was an astronomer who said the moon revolves around the sun.

Download As PDF

Next GK on The Background of Delhi Sultanate Notes MCQ


Hi, I am SOM, a State Added (WB) Lecturer in Physics at a College, Part-time blogger, and founder of, started blogging since 2015 and still learning.